Favorite Finds: Thrifted Russel Wright (!)

I I don’t believe I have ever found a piece of Russel Wright’s American Modern dishes in a thrift store. Ever. I’ve seen Franciscan out the wazoo, tons of California pottery, carnival glass, Morris chairs … you name it. But never Russel Wright.

Well. That all changed today. We’re in southern Arizona visiting Brian’s parents, so we set out this morning to see what yard sales are like in this area (more on this later). Afterwards, we hit a couple of thrift stores in Sierra Vista. I was surprised to discover that the prices are considerably higher here than at Wichita thrift stores. I only bought a few doll arms (50 cents) at St. Vincent de Paul and after scanning the shelves at the Salvation Army I didn’t think I’d fare much better there.

The first thing I looked at were a couple of state souvenier glasses, which I’ve also never seen out thrifting. (I have a fairly sizable collection, but I’ve purchased all of mine at auctions or well-priced antique malls.) These weren’t in great condition and were priced at $5 and $6, so I passed.

Then the crowd parted, a ray of light streamed down from the acoustic tile ceiling, and I saw them.

Three small salad bowls in chartreuse (my favorite color in the series), coral (my least favorite) and seafoam. Six plates. A couple of other coral serving pieces.

I’m on an extremely tight budget, so I knew there was no way I’d be able to afford them, especially given the other prices I’d seen ($3 apiece for Canada Dry Ginger Ale glasses, to cite one example).

The six plates were marked as a set for $8.99. The bowls were $2.50 each. At $13.49, this would be my biggest splurge of the trip, but undoubtably the best deal I’d come across so far.*

So of course I bought them.

I left all the coral serving pieces behind. Hopefully they’ll make someone else’s day.

I have lots more to report on, including a few thrifting stops in New Mexico on the way here. Some of the pictures are on Flickr already.

Until next time, happy thrifting!

*I sold American Modern at my shop. The plates went for $10/each and the small serving bowls would have been $30 apiece.

4 Comments

Filed under Emily, Favorite Finds

4 responses to “Favorite Finds: Thrifted Russel Wright (!)

  1. I collect state souvenir glasses as well. I went through this whole thing where I wanted all fifty, but in a completely non-matching way. Which is tricky because so many of them are Hazel Atlas and thus all match. I finally let it go and now I just pick them up when I see them and then one day I’ll whittle it down to a manageable collection. As it is, I have boxes of the damned things. I should send you the extras!

  2. Emily Christensen

    We should trade! I “only” have about 25, but I have lots of different ones.

    I think I might have picked up the attraction to state glasses from you, actually. When I had the shop I had this idea for an art show with a piece each for each state, D.C., and the territories. I’d started collecting some vintage souvenir things to sell alongside the art, but then I never followed through and ended up keeping all the glasses for myself.

    For some reason I keep picking up pink and black ceramics (well, mostly because my fav California pottery company, Roselane, has some terrific pink-and-black pieces), even though I don’t especially like the color combo–so I was halfway considering trying to collect all fifty states in pink and black. Still not sure I want to commit to that, though.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Those bowls are fabbo. It’s always good to know that other folks spend their vacations the way I do–thrifting!

Leave a Reply

